Whistling in the wind

We spoke to a scientist at CERN…

The results we have been getting from the LHC are enabling us to provide a better understanding of not only the structure of our universe at the quantum level but is providing a glimpse into what was happening in the very first pico-seconds following the Big-Bang. The new upgrades will let us start to look further into the mysteries of dark matter. The improvements in the sensor technology and computing capability are assisting us greatly in this work.

We spoke to a scientist at the ESA…

You have to remember that the technology on board the Philae lander is more than a decade old. Despite this, we have already learnt an incredible amount about the structure of comets and their chemical composition. Who knows what we would have been able to achieve if we could have used the latest technologies, more efficient solar cells, less power-hungry motors and circuitry, more sensitive sensors. Next time, perhaps…

We spoke to a leading industrialist…

Improvements in manufacturing technology mean not just that we can make things more cheaply (we have less waste, for example), but we can make things now that we were not able to make in the past. A good example of this is how we have been able to change lenses used in spectacles. They are now much thinner, and consequently more comfortable for the wearer, thanks to computerised laser grinding. Most things we make are also cheaper because of the new manufacturing methods. Sometimes this is due to robotics, but often it is due to efficiencies in the supply line that an integrated information and communications system bring.

We spoke to a member of the public…

Better technology has made my life so much easier, and saves me a lot of money compared to a few years ago. I can buy most things more cheaply over the internet, and I particularly like the idea that I can buy and sell things on e-bay which cuts down on waste. Sometimes its just convenience things, like being able to record a programme I’ve forget to set the recorder for, but the same technology also allows me to control my central heating and so save money. Being able to see elderly relatives rather than just hearing them on the phone helps them and us. I’m also able to work from home, which saves a great deal in commuting and office costs. Also, I work more efficiently that way. I have access to all my work stuff wherever I am. And so much of it is automated that I can concentrate on the difficult, and more rewarding, stuff.

We spoke to a teacher…

There is no evidence that the use of technology in schools improves learning.

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 10.55.37

