Maybe I’m a bit odd, but…

Maybe I’m a bit odd but I don’t care if teachers are:
Male or female;
Black or white;
Old or young;
Gay or straight.
I don’t care if they went or Oxbridge or Uxbridge.
I certainly don’t care if they got a Geoffrey or a Desmond.
I don’t care if they’ve worked outside education before they train to teach (although I must admit I’d prefer it but it’s really messing up the simplicity of what I’m trying to say here so I’ll stop talking about it before I completely lose my drift).
I don’t care if they are idealists, traditionalists, pragmatists, constructivists, progressives or any other such -ist, because at some point in the day, with some child, they’ll need to be each of those things, sometimes all at the same time.
I don’t care if they don’t stay in the profession because I’m sure that they will be making the decision to leave in everyone’s best interests.
I don’t care if they planned before they trained to only stay for a while. Because you and I know that many of them will get the bug and stay anyway.
I don’t care that some will be in the classroom teaching earlier than others. Some are ready for it. On my PGCE many of us were effectively leading classes within weeks of entering a school. We could do that because we had superb mentors to support us. None of us were the teachers we were to become, but we weren’t so far off.
I don’t care if some grow up to become members of the school leadership team, because schools need them too.
I don’t care if one way or the other for training costs more or less than another way. Whatever the extra is its a drop in the ocean. Someone is planning to spend £42billion on HS2 and £25billion on Trident instead of spending £50billon rebuilding our crumbling schools. Go and argue with them.
I don’t even care that too many of them are blogging about things they do as if people weren’t already doing them 20 years ago but were too busy trying to get the Banda to work to blog about it (or write a case study, as we called it back in the day).
Not because some of these things aren’t important. Some of them are. But because there are other things I prefer to spend my time caring about.
I care about this.
I care that they wanted to teach, and that many succeed and do it brilliantly.
I care that they nurture my kids every day.
I care that many stay until they retire.
I care that many of them move on to other roles in the education system to support the work of those that stay.
I care that, like the kids they teach, everyone of them is different, with different skills, talents, knowledge, desire and personal goals.
And finally, I care that they care enough to care about all the things I don’t care about.

